—ness

Thankfulness and Mindfulness are my new favorite “–ness”s since I’ve been out of the psych unit 😄

Yeah, a lot of things may have happened before to have gotten me to feel fed up with life: school, relationship problems, hurting myself because of doing things that I shouldn’t have done, stressful responsibilities – but can we just stop and think about where we are now?

As I write this I’m currently on my way home from an awesome-sauce weekend in North Carolina with family. It’s been a week since I finished with classes(!) It’s a really beautiful day out. The skies are bright blue with puffy, dragon-looking (sorry – I’m a childhood/special education major) clouds. I’m thinking about the many people in my life who love and support me. I’m even thinking about how thankful I am for the people who were supposed to be there for me, but weren’t. They helped me to see who and what it is that I really need in my life.

Stop and think for a second and ask:

Where does God have you right now?

  • Where are you standing/sitting?
  • What are you doing?
  • What are you thinking and/or feeling, and why?

If you’re thinking about something and letting it catastrophize into x, y, and z, then stop. What was your initial problem? How can you deal with that, and that alone?

Just slow down, and think about it for a second. God has you where you are for a reason 🙂 With all my love,

– Ariel

Leave a Reply

