Jesus on World Suicide Prevention Day

Hey all 🙂

It’s been a long while since I last posted on my blog. In the past couple of weeks I’ve been praying for a message that God would like me to share. My prayers were ironically answered as I checked the New York Times website. I found an article about Japan’s “World Suicide Prevention Week” plans. I Googled the day and there it was: “September 10, World Suicide Prevention Day.” God, you are too good.

I’m so grateful that all around the world different countries are doing what they can to raise awareness about suicide and mental health. Russia, the U.S., Japan, Nigeria, Canada, Germany, etc. are all doing amazing things. They tell the world that the numbers of suicide/suicidal attempts in their home countries have been increasing like wildfire. In Japan, 25,427 people took their lives last year. It’s thousands, thousands, and more thousands. Thousands of more lives. Thousands of more souls.

Although I was at the psychiatric unit back in April, I can’t lie and say that I am completely healed and have “reached the other side.” These thoughts can still be really hard to battle with. There are times when all I want to do is stay in bed, and pray for the good Lord to take me home with Him. Luckily it’s not only just my battle. With the help of family, friends, my church and the Word of God as my support system, I still stand. I fight. And if I ever enter into that mood I tell the depression, the thoughts, the weights on my body that they have no place in me because with Jesus I am victorious. As David said,

I am worn out from my groaning. All night long I flood my bed with weeping, and drench my couch with tears.
My eyes grow weak with sorrow; they fail because of all my foes.
Away from me, all you who do evil, for the Lord has heard my weeping.
The Lord has heard my cry for mercy; the Lord accepts my prayer.
– Psalm 6:6-9

Friends, I’m grateful to have the people and the God in my life that I have now, but there are others in this world who have no one, nor God. They have never heard of the One who took their pain away. They need the support system. I challenge you to show Christ’s love and tell someone, anyone on this day who He is. Suicide numbers are on the rise, so it is time for you to rise. The numbers of those who hear the Good News could be even greater. 

With much love,
Ariel


For more info on World Suicide Prevention Day/National Suicide Prevention week, check out:

WSPD-for-website

One thought on “Jesus on World Suicide Prevention Day

Leave a Reply

