Your Worth in the Attack

Sometimes depression and anxiety can keep you from doing so many things. When destructive thoughts come into my mind, I feel no strength to do anything. And to think, the Lord has called me (someone who cries all the time) to lead a congregation into worship??

Friends, I’m coming to terms with the fact that the Lord really does equip the called, and does not call the equipped. I wrote a SOAP (Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer) devotional today that I would like to share with you. It shares the fact that I am never defeated, no matter how powerful the feelings of depression may be. It shares the fact that with God, all things are possible.

SCRIPTURE: “But you, Lord, do not be far from me. You are my strength; come quickly to help me. Deliver me from the sword, my precious life from the power of the dogs. Rescue me from the mouth of the lions; save me from the horns of the wild oxen.” – Psalm 22:19-21

OBSERVATION:
– The Lord is the ONLY source of strength. It cannot be found anywhere else.
– He is Father. He will come quickly when He sees His own child in distress.
– “my precious life” – a life is precious in the Lord’s eyes. It is his treasure.
– He will come to rescue at ALL times.

APPLICATION:
– My body feels “poured out like water, and all my bones are out of joint” (verse 14). But I will still call on the Lord.
– As long as the Lord is in my heart, as long as Christ still stands as Lord, and as long as I call on Him, I will NEVER be defeated.
– The Lord comes to MY rescue at all times.

PRAYER: My God, I call on You right now. My body has felt weak with anxiety. Weak with destructive thoughts. Weak from constant tears. But, like David, I still call you Lord. I ask you to be my strength. To come and rescue me from all things that are against me. Tell me that my life is precious, that I am Yours, and that You love me. Keep me in your arms and under Your protective wing. Comfort me in the fact that I will ALWAYS be your child, and that Satan will ALWAYS be defeated. I love you Lord and in your name I pray, Amen.

I pray that you find worth in yourself even if you do deal with battles of depression and anxiety attacks. You are worthy to take part in any form of leadership, as long as you are always willing. Ask God to give you an outlet into that strength. I am with you as I try to continually remind myself of the victory. Through Christ, we can do anything.

Leave a Reply

